//
you're reading...
Mythology/Religion

“So you believe in a god ?” – Oath of the Nazi SS

Every now and then, you hear that Nazis were atheists. Nothing can be further from the truth. I stumbled upon the Nazi SS oath and just had to share it.

The full Eidformel der Schutzstaffel (Oath of the SS) consisted of three questions and answers. The following text is cited from a primary source written by Heinrich Himmler himself!

German English
“Wie lautet Dein Eid ?” – “Ich schwöre Dir, Adolf Hitler, als Führer und Kanzler des Deutschen Reiches Treue und Tapferkeit. Wir geloben Dir und den von Dir bestimmten Vorgesetzten Gehorsam bis in den Tod. So wahr mir Gott helfe !”

“Also glaubst Du an einen Gott ?” – “Ja, ich glaube an einen Herrgott.”

“Was hältst Du von einem Menschen, der nicht an einen Gott glaubt?” – “Ich halte ihn für überheblich, größenwahnsinnig und dumm; er ist nicht für uns geeignet.”

“What is your oath ?” – “I vow to you, Adolf Hitler, as Führer and chancellor of the German Reich loyalty and bravery. I vow to you and to the leaders, that you set for me, absolute allegiance, till death. So help me god !”

“So you believe in a god ?” – “Yes, I believe in a supreme being.”

“What do you think about a man who does not believe in a god ?” – “I think he is overbearing, megalomaniac and foolish; he is not adequate for our society.”

Any questions?

Notes:

Heinrich Himmler: Die Schutzstaffel (SS) als antibolschewistische Kampforganisation, 1937, p.15

About elpidiovaldes

Human, All Too Human.

Discussion

6 thoughts on ““So you believe in a god ?” – Oath of the Nazi SS

  1. However it can be perceived that “supreme being” is just another phrase for the aryan race…

    Posted by lucaszuniga | February 14, 2014, 22:30
  2. Yeah, I believe in God, I believe He doesn’t like me. And if the 6 o’clock news is any indication, I’m not alone!

    Any so called “God” that demands or requires mortals do this dirty work for Him (killing, war, punish, ostracize) is not omnipotant(all powerful), omnicient(all knowing), or omnipresent(everywhere), and therefore forfeits any and all legitimacy to be considered the Supreme Being. If God wants me or anyone else dead, he can do it Himself just like He did in Egypt when He killed all the 1st born during the time of Moses (1st passover). How many Acts Of God can claim a life? Earthquakes, floods, tornadoes, lightning, meteors, sink holes, land slides, disease, heart attack, stroke, brain embolism, animal attacks, etc… I’m not hiding.

    Too many christians willingly give up the right to think for themselves regarding morality issues handed down to them from the preacher behind the pulpit. “You can’t question God’s authority!” If I’m created in God’s image, I believe that I’m obligated to use my God given intellect to question the commands, laws & precepts handed down in scripture, from the church & clergy. I suspect someone lied & put words in God’s mouth to further their own agenda.

    Posted by Super-Dave | May 24, 2014, 11:33

Leave a Reply

